05 Jul
covid19 spain march 2022

COVID-19: European Council adds 10 countries and one entity authority to the list of countries for which travel restrictions should be lifted

Covid-19 and travels: Following a review under the recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, the Council updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted.

As stipulated in the Council recommendation, this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated.

  • The list of countries

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from 1 July 2021 member states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

Armenia (new)
Azerbaijan (new)
Bosnia and Herzegovina (new)
Brunei Darussalam (new)
Canada (new)
Jordan (new)
Montenegro (new)
New Zealand
Qatar (new)
Republic of Moldova (new)
Republic of North Macedonia
Saudi Arabia (new)
South Korea
United States of America
China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity
Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong and Macao.

Under the category of entities and territorial authorities that are not recognised as states by at least one member state, travel restrictions for Kosovo[1] (new) and Taiwan should also be gradually lifted.

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The criteria to determine the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted were updated on 20 May 2021.

They cover the epidemiological situation and overall response to COVID-19, as well as the reliability of the available information and data sources. Reciprocity should also be taken into account on a case by case basis.

By: Estela Martín

Linkedin TopVoices España 2020. DirCom & RSC en ...


Call Us